The Film Festival of Cabourg is a cinematic event in Basse Normandy, France which draws 11,000 visitors each year. Founded in 1983 by French author, journalist and historian Gonzague Saint-Bris, the festival’s jury composed of movie professionals confers the « Golden Swann » Award to the most Romantic film of the year. Movie buffs get to experience intense moments of emotion, drama,laughter and tears thanks to more than 50 motion pictures shown in the theaters or in the open air thanks to a giant screen displayed on the beach.

The city of Cabourg with it’s grand hotel and beachside is legendary ever since the great author Marcel Proust wrote his masterpiece « In Search of Lost Time » in 1913. The 28th edition of the Romantic Film Festival took place last mid june for 5 days in the presence of some of the most talented French and international movie stars and romantic leads of the day. In the past it has drawn french celebrities like Isabelle Adjani, Emmanuelle Béart, Sophie Marceau, Jean Dujardin, Juliette Binoche, Sandrine Bonnaire, Marion Cotillard,  Charlotte Rampling, Audrey Tautou, Guillaume Canet, James Ivory, Claude Lelouch, Klaus Kinski, François Ozon, Andrzej Zulawski, but also Hollywood movie legends like Ginger Rogers, Gene Tierney, Esther Williams, Brian de Palma, or George Chakiris to name a few.

Photocalls, exhibitions, conferences were held in the city giving visitors and journalists an opportunity to discuss and meet with the professionals of the industry ranging from directors to actors, composers to singers, producers and distributors. 

I had the opportunity to meet director producer Jay Jonroy Alani whom I had interviewed many years ago for his first romantic comedy David and Layla. His new film, a romantic drama titled Beyond Paradise was screened at the Panorama section of the festival and was warmly greeted to a standing ovation by the audience.

Stay tuned for more updates on this film in a near future.

Until then wishing everyone a happy summer and …


NOTE : More about the festival and this year’s awardees here

View Full-screen Gallery